Happy New Year!

It’s been a while since I left a post – such are the chaotic nature of the holiday season.  I think that today is my favorite holiday of the year (yes, even more than Christmas) simply because once a year everyone is given a fresh start – a  blank slate – a chance to do better – than last year.

I’ve decided not to make ‘resolutions’ this year because they are so hard and fast… and typically are broken by January 31st.  Instead, I’ve drafted a few things on which I want to improve in just the next 90 days.

1).  No more late fees for anything – I looked back through my statements and realized that there’s an often outrageous price for my procrastination.  More and more companies are charging late fees for being just a day late with a payment.  My goal is to have no late fees in January, February, or March.  However, I already know that I will incur late fees tomorrow when I return my library books because they’re overdue, but I’m not going to sweat it.

2). Our bedroom is our sanctuary and we will not allow it to be defiled again.  While I was in PA with my family for the holidays my wonderful husband picked up, repainted, and installed shelving in our bedroom.   We worked together after I got back to get everything that didn’t belong in there out and made sure we had clean surfaces.  Then we sat down together and made a list of rules that we both agreed to abide by – all clothes put away, nothing stays on the flat surfaces, etc. – that will allow us to enjoy that room… OUR ROOM.  Oddly enough, we find ourselves spending more time in there with the dogs reading and just hanging out. 

3). I am not Superwoman and need to ask for help occasionally.  It only took me being 6 months pregnant to realize this, but I have to rely on other people.  I can’t carry the clothes basket or the vacuum cleaner between floors anymore (hard when you have a 4 level split house), I need help reaching high places, and some days I just can’t do it all.  Thankfully, Ben has really stepped up to help me out, which makes asking for assistance easier.  I just need to learn my ever-changing limitations.

4). I will NOT beat myself up for not being perfect.  (Yes Claire, I took a page out of your book… err, blog!)  I’m trying to come to terms that I can’t do everything that I used to be able to do just the way I did it.  Maybe my house will be wonderfully clean when that nesting instinct kicks in, but for the time being I’m okay with a little dog hair on the living room carpet as long as the main areas like the kitchen are clean.  I also need to give myself permission to have a little fun instead of worrying about things being perfect.  I have a scrapbooking and beading area just begging to be used.  

5). Finally, I’m going to continue to work out at the gym – albeit not at the same intensity level as my current class – up until the week/day I deliver.  I’m so proud of myself for sticking with this program for the entire 12 weeks and can’t wait to see what my weight loss / inch loss is on Friday night.  Sheila, my personal trainer, is teaching water aerobics two days a week and I’ve asked her to keep me on task.  In return, she’s asked me to be brutally honest about how people like her class as compared to the other instructors and how she can improve them.  I think it’s a pretty fair trade off.

Oddly enough, no directly baby-related stuff in my five goals.  However, by taking care of me I’m also going to be taking care of baby.  Doing the stuff above will allow me to become a better person, mother, and wife.  I’m okay with that 🙂

What are your plans for 2009?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherri
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 11:54:14

    I’m glad you figured out early on that you have to take care of yourself. Now…don’t forget it. For, like, 20 years.

    I’ve got a feeling that this will be extremely hard for me, especially after the baby is born. I’ve asked Ben to gently ‘remind me’ when I’m attempting to take on too much or am not taking care of myself properly.

    For some reason I haven’t done much looking forward this New Year. Maybe that is a subconscious sign of what I need to focus on this year: letting things come as they will. A hard task for me.

    I think this is one of those things that you can’t force to happen. I had my New Year’s ‘revelation’ in the car on the 5 hour holiday car trip. Yours may come on July 23rd… mine just happened when I had a lot of free time on my hands. Also, you’ve had a LOT happen this past year and maybe this is a year where you just let things come (and go!) as they will. 2009 is going to be a better year for a LOT of us. You’ll do just fine!

    Reply

  2. claire
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 12:21:48

    I love your list. You have great intentions and I think you will enjoy the rewards of your efforts. Now…I think the trick is to put these goals in a place where you can constantly be reminded of them. And, I just read a page on a blog about boiling it all down to one word for the new year. I will send you the link. It made me think about what my “mantra” might be for ’09. Perhaps you would like to think about that, too…I’ll send it to you.

    Intentions… what a great word for a list without action behind it! That’s been my downfall in years past – making up these terrific plans and not following through with them. Ben and I have discussed all my goals and he’s determined to help me keep on track. I’m planning on posting them in my closet close to my jewelry / dirty laundry area so that I have to visit them at least twice a day. I’ll have to go check out that link you sent… I need all the help I can get!

    I love New Year’s, too…you’re so right, a fresh start.

    All the best, my dear friend. Hugs, C

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 16:36:34

    Ask for help; yes, this is good. It’s good to take care of baby by taking care of you, too. Also good, also correct. The taking care of baby directly comes AFTER baby, so you’re doing just fine.

    My asking for help is a HUGE step for me. Just ask Ben… I’m *fiercely* independent. Hopefully I can get on track these next three months and be ready for the end of April.

    Best of everything in 2009, sweetie. We love you.

    We’re pulling for you guys in 2009 too – it HAS to be a better year. I can’t even BEGIN to tell you how much Ben & I appreciate everything you’ve done to improve / prod / inspire his writing this year. We love you, too!

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 21:54:50

    Happy new year! I am still waiting for that nesting thing to kick in…maybe 2009 will be the year 😉

    Oh whatever! Every time I visit your house is always in tip top shape. Mine… not so much!

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 14:10:13

    Next time peek in my closets! You wanna talk about some serious stash & dash 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

