The Great Snoogle Experiment

I’ve been sleeping with the Snoogle for the past 2 nights and I’m still undecided.  There’s pretty much three sleeping configurations – curled up inside the C, backwards C, and freestyle.  Here’s a breakdown of the last few nights…

10:32PM – Inside C.  Aaaahh… finally, enough support for my head, a pillow between my knees that I don’t have to adjust every 10 seconds, and support for my back so that I’m not tempted to roll on it every night.  Drawbacks include that the hand supporting my head at the top of the C gets cold easily.

1:46AM – Backwards C.  I kinda like this position because you still have the head and knee support, but you can wrap your arms around the C part for more support in the front.  This is what I need because I have always been a stomach sleeper.

3:22AM – Freestyle.  Lying on my stomach, hand on the top part of the Snoogle and the rest of it is lying ON TOP OF ME.  How did this happen?  Readjust to Inside C position. 

Last night pretty much the same thing happened except that it became a Snoogle Prison!  I was trapped in the backwards C position.  Then, I attempted to roll over with both my body AND the Snoogle and it didn’t work very well.  Covers went everywhere, I got cold, and Ben started snoring.  Shortly after that I realized that while I had rolled over, the position was backwards – instead of Backwards C I was curled around the outside of the C.  Duh.

I’ll still keep sleeping with it… it may just take a little more getting used to.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 13:59:49

    Um, yeah…i pretty much had a love/hate with mine, too…and I still ended up going to a PT for back pain. But, I’m one of those girls who HATED being pregnant and I will be honest about that, unlike all the ones who say it was the best time of their life…LIARS! 🙂 LOL! Hope you can find a tolerable position. My favorite part was throwing it back in the closet after Em was born. 🙂

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 19:03:27

    I’m a stomach sleeper too. Only 4 more months to get used to it! Then you can curl up around your baby while you nurse. I’ve heard some moms use their pillows to help support the baby while they’re nursing too. Just remember, this too shall pass.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

