It’s a…. it’s a… it’s a…

GIRL! 

Yeah, color me surprised.  I’m pretty disappointed that my maternal instincts have let me down from the get-go.  I thought for sure that it was a boy.  The only drawback is that the baby (from here on will be referred to as ‘she’) was being extremely modest by having her legs tightly crossed and her knees drawn up into her chest so that it was difficult to get a 100% definitive answer.  We’re going to have to settle for an 80% chance that it’s a girl.

She’s got long legs and long arms – don’t know where she got that from seeing as how I’m only 5’4; Ben isn’t much taller at a little under 6 feet.  She’s also dead on for weight at her ‘age.’  No obvious defects that the doc can see – everything today was pretty much what you’d hope for in an ultrasound.  We’ll have pictures up soon – they’re not very definitive but hey, it’s a baby.  One problem was that she was positioned directly behind my belly button (no wonder it’s getting more shallow!) and the belly button was casting weird shadows on the u/s.

Ben and I are really going to get the nursery project going full tilt here shortly.  We need to get all the ‘stash and dash’ stuff from the room that will become the nursery out of  there – and this time I’m going to go THROUGH it instead of just dumping it somewhere else.  We’ve got a fun week of clearing out, sorting, organizing, filling nail holes, and taping the woodwork so that Ben can paint.  One benefit of being pregnant – there’s not gonna be a paintbrush in THESE hands for the next few months.  I’ll keep you posted with our progress.  I’d take before & after pictures if I wasn’t so ashamed of its current state *sigh*

Went to dinner with the folks – his and mine – to do the great reveal.  It was funny because our family was evenly split between boys and girls.  Learned that the baby absolutely LOVES hot fudge sundaes 😀  She started wiggling up a storm a few minutes after Mom and I shared our ice cream.  Speaking of which, she’s pretty darn active now, too.  It’s funny that now I know where she is I’m more in tune with her movements.  Thank goodness she’s nowhere near my bladder *whew*.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 22:52:17

    Sounds like she had a sugar high from the hot fudge! 🙂 Haha! So glad for the news of a healthy baby girl. As for the nursery…let me warn you, those little paint swatches don’t look too dark until you paint them on the wall…and if you’re not careful, all of the sudden the room looks like Peptol…trust me on this one. 🙂 Made that mistake at the last house and I felt horrible b/c my mom and MIL spend two days painting it for me and I didn’t have the heart to tell them to change it! 🙂 Let me know if I can help somehow!

    We’re definitely not going with pink or purple – that decision was made a LONG time ago. I think we’re going to go more with a tan color and decorate the nursery from there. A girlfriend of mine painted her baby’s room a cool ‘Vanilla Bean’ color and I love it. We also buy those $3.99/jar sample colors so that we can test it in all the light first. It’s worth the investment of $12 for 3 jars of paint if it saves us from repainting the room if we don’t absolutely love it.

    Theme is going to be ABCs and Animals – here’s my inspiration: http://www.michaels.com/art/online/displayProductPage?productNum=pc0819

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 03:24:21

    Congratulations! Awesome news, and we are so honored to be part of this great excitement for the two of you!

    God bless you — all three! 😀

    Reply

  3. Sherri Cornelius
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 14:35:39

    Congrats, Kristy. I’m really excited for you! 🙂 I hope you’ll post some “after” pics, even without the “befores.”

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 14:38:33

    It is a whole new ball game when you can refer to the baby as SHE. Doesn’t it make it seem more *real*? 🙂

    If by REAL you mean uncontrollable crying and panic, then yes… it’s more real 🙂 The weird thing is that now that I know where she is I can feel her more. I’m starting to get a better idea of when she’s active. I don’t know if I’ll be able to refer to her as “Mal” when I talk to her though… that seems a bit farther off.

    Are you guys going to do one of those 3D/4D ultrasounds?

    No – and for two reasons. The first is that they’re ubercreepy and the second one is that they’re more of a ‘cosmetic’ thing and not covered by our insurance. To me it’s not worth paying over $400 to get a better image of her right now. I’m going to have another U/S done at 30 weeks and we’ll be able to see everything just fine then. I’m patient 🙂 Did you guys get one??

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 18:28:08

    Those ABC cards are so cute! Kind of old-fashioned, so sweet! Love it!

    Thank you for sharing your special day with us – it’s such an honor to be a part of it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

