Pregnancy Woes

Warning… this post may contain TMI for the faint hearted (read: male) reader.  Proceed at your own risk.

 I consider myself fairly lucky that this far through my pregnancy I haven’t had a lot of really bad symptoms like a few of my friends did.  Sure, I went through a time of nausea, not wanting to eat anything (meat especially), and peeing like crazy in my first trimester. 

It seemed like things had calmed down in the last few weeks during the second trimester ‘honeymoon period’ but now I’m not so sure.  I have a whole NEW realm of crazy things that are affecting my life.   I’m not sure which ones are serious (if any) and which ones are just mildly annoying but a warmup for the discomforts to come in the third trimester.

Here they are… lemme know your thoughts and/or experiences.  Sorry if it’s TMI but hey, you clicked to get here…

1). Crazy ass pain in my lower abdomen whenever I roll over at night.  Research says it’s round ligament pain but it feels like my placenta is being ripped from my uterus for about 20 seconds and then it subsides.  Repeat several times a night.

2). Leakage.  Seriously- where does this stuff COME FROM!?!?!  Well, I think I know where it comes from, but does it have to be in such copious amounts?  I’m going through pantiliners like mad –  I may have to do a Costco run this weekend just to stock up.  At what point should I be concerned?  Waking up in the morning feeling like I’ve peed myself is NOT the best way to start the day.  (Again – I WARNED you about the TMI.  Blame yourself for reading this far.)

3). Sex drive through the freaking atmosphere coupled with a husband who is not  taking advantage of this golden (could only be once in his lifetime!!!) opportunity.  I.want.to.scream.

4). Uncontrollable sobbing over the slightest things.  I had a major meltdown on Thanksgiving night (and at the dinner table) because I thought I ruined Thanksgiving dinner by forgetting the green bean casserole in the oven.  Uncontrollable laughter followed 3 days later when I found the GBC still in the oven on Sunday.

Those are the biggies… my skin isn’t too bad but it’s not the ‘glowing’ look that most pregnant women get.  I’m finally starting to show to the point where people notice I’m pregnant.  It’s strange because I’m getting bigger in front but can still wear a lot of my pants…  even those that aren’t drawstring or elastic like workout pants.  I’m not complaining – less maternity clothes I have to buy!

</end self pity> 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 13:39:56

    I am replying to you via email. I don’t need the world knowing this much about me 😉

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 15:35:52

    1 – Do a search for pregnancy pillows. It hurts because the weight of your belly is pulling ligaments, tendons, muscles of your back and sides. Keeping your belly propped on a pillow while you’re sleeping will help reduce that pain.

    2 – Keep the liners stocked up. But check with your doc to make sure you’re not leaking amniotic fluid. You can also buy special pads/liners for your bed, they’re usually square, backed with a blue or green liner. Get them anyway, as they will be useful after the baby’s born. Things are kind of messy then.

    3 – Bug your husband more, or buy a toy. And make him watch. 😉

    4 – For some women, this continues on until the baby is about 3-6 mos old. It just depends on your hormones. For others, the 3rd trimester is when things settle down. Just be patient with yourself, remind hubby to be too, and if he’s not, send him my way so I can kick his butt. 😉

    Rumors have it that the glowing thing mostly happens when it’s going to be a boy, and that baby girls cause more skin problems, dry skin, flakiness, etc. I have also heard that girls will lie with their back on your right, feet in your stomach, and that boys will lie with their back on your left, feet in your ribs. For me, that was true. I also heard that boys carried out front more and girls carried more around the middle. For example, if you look pregnant from the back, it’s a girl, but if you don’t, it’s a boy.

    You’re doing just fine hon, don’t worry. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Claire
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 20:08:39

    i have a pillow you can use, we also have the pads for the bed that a friend gave us for our puppy…you’re welcome to borrow either or both. Or, sleep in a chair, I know friends who did! My body pillow is a c-shaped one that I bought on babycenter.com. It’s just sitting in a closet now if you want to try it. And, the crying will last for a while…especially (for me) right after baby is born when your hormones go freaking wild… 🙂 At least AFTER baby you can drink! 🙂 HA HA! Well, my little one is getting ready for bed, time to read some cardboard books. Oh, you think life is interesting now…just wait! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

