Baby Update – 21 Weeks

The countdown continues… only 1 more week until we find out if we’re having a boy or a girl.  I’m so jealous of our friend Alice who found out last week that she’s having a girl!

Here’s what’s going on with baby this week…

Your baby’s blood circulation is completely functional. The umbilical cord system continues to grow and thicken as blood travels with considerable force through the body to nurture the baby. The placenta is now almost equal in size to the baby.  This scares me somewhat and I don’t know why.

Your baby will be getting much larger during the second half of your pregnancy. Your baby’s crown-to-rump length at this time is 7.2 inches and she weighs approximately 10.5 ounces.  You should be able to feel your uterus about a half of an inch above your navel.  No kiddin’.  Your weight gain so far will be around 10 to 15 pounds. Ha!  Not this chica!

As your baby begins to lay down more fat, your weight will also increase. During the next 10 weeks, you will gain about half of the total gain for your entire pregnancy.  Strangers can now tell that you are pregnant!  Oh good… now they won’t just think I’m fat 🙂  You might notice an increase in appetite because you need 500 more calories a day to support your charged up metabolism. It is best to avoid processed foods or foods high in fat, calories or sugar.  Duh.  But it’s fun to break the rules sometimes.  I made Ben take me through the DQ drive thru Saturday… num!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 00:52:37

    ahhhh, DQ. I didn’t have DQ in harrisburg, but I somehow managed to gain more than 50 lbs with Emily. And, it was STUBBORN weight to lose. You’re so much smarter than me! I’m so proud of you for keeping up with your exercise and being more mindful of what you’re doing to your body. I totally sabotaged mine!! Can’t wait for next week!

    I’m not saying it’s easy… cause it’s not. Some days I just have to indulge because if not it will be sooooo much worse the next time I get a craving. I actually broke down and had Ben get me a 2 liter of Coke last night – it’s hard to believe how much you miss that stuff sometimes.

    I found myself wondering last night how much weight I’ve ‘gained’ that’s baby-related and then how much fat I’ve lost to keep my weight in balance. I should find out a pretty good approximation of what baby weighs on Monday.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 00:52:50

    Placenta’s are magical! Amazing what they can do.

    Baby doesn’t weigh much, but the amniotic fluid, the increased blood volume (yours), your fluid increase – like bigger boobs, the placenta, it all adds up.

    I feel like a road map with all the veins becoming so prominent. I looked at my legs the other day in the shower and was like, “holy crap!” I can tell my blood volume is more, especially when I walk up stairs. This whole thing your body does in response to baby is absolutely amazing and beyond my comprehension.

    You’re doing good, woman! Keep it up!

    Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 17:18:35

    You are nurturing new life. That’s like … sacred. And awesome. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

