More updates… duh!

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you guys that I’ve started feeling movement – hooray!  Usually the baby is most active in mid-morning around 10 or 10:30, then again around 7, and then a maniac around 10:30-11:00PM.  It’s not huge kicks but more like goldfish swimming around in there.

I can’t believe how hard my stomach is getting.  If I was delusional I could tell myself that I’m building rock hard abs but I’m being realistic and accepting that it’s all baby.  My bellybutton is getting smaller each week too. *sigh*  I read the week-by-week decriptions of how big the baby is (10 inches, 8 oz) and can’t even picture how something that big can be co-existing in there.  I caught a side glimpse of my reflection in the sliding glass door and was just amazed.  We weigh in again tomorrow at class so hopefully I’ll be able to convince my trainer to take measurements – I’m interested to see how many inches I’ve gained around my waist.

The other night when I was really feeling movement I had Ben put his ear to my stomach to see if he could heard the baby moving around.  He listened for 1/2 a second and then flew across to his side of the bed with this horrified look on his face.  He said to me, “Either you’re brewing the world’s biggest fart or that’s the baby moving!”  I’m going to see if I can snag my mom’s stethoscope this weekend to see if I can hear baby moving or food digesting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 23:05:37

    totally forgot to tell you about a fun game we played when emmy was still in the oven. Jeremy would take a little flashlight and run it over my tummy (in the dark) and emily would swim to the light. we could feel her kicking wherever we put the light. how amazing is that?? try it! 🙂

    We’ll probably have to wait a few more weeks to play the flashlight game seeing as how I’m still in the stage of “is that baby moving or am i hungry?” Although, last night I thought I felt two whoppers in a row right before I fell asleep on the couch. I’m sure that it will be a big hit when I’m 6 months along at our family Christmas celebration.

    omg, the stethoscope comment is too funny!

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 00:50:57

    Woo for baby kicks! 😀

    I think it’s funny that we’re excited about them now but I will probably want to scream about them just two short months in the future when those cute little kicks are damaging most of my internal organs. 😀

    You guys are just too funny. LOL You probably won’t be able to hear the baby moving – there’s no air in the womb to make “bubble” sounds. What you’ll hear are digestive sounds – but I’ll lay odds that it’s probably not the world’s biggest foof. ROFL

    I dunno… I know that I was able to hear the baby actually moving when the dr. did the doppler at the last dr.’s appointment. It was all Matrix sound effect-like. My sister (who is a nurse) said that we *might* be able to hear the baby’s heartbeat with the stethoscope if the positioning is right. Wouldn’t that be a cool birthday gift for my dad tomorrow?

    Reply

  3. darcZombie
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 11:35:09

    Foof? OMG ROFL

    Well, at least she didn’t say ‘tooterbutter’.

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 11:37:46

    I need to get pregnant again to try that flashlight trick!

    Uh, run that one by Brad first, wouldja? Oh yeah… and don’t mention that you heard about it on MY blog!

    Do the dancing remote on your belly trick 🙂

    That one is definitely filed under ‘future baby fun!’

    Brad put his head against my belly when I was 11 weeks and when I asked what he was doing he said he was trying to hear the heartbeat (we had just heard it at the OBGYN’s). LOL oh that still kills me to think about it. Hahaha.

    Hahahahah.. I can just see him doing that. How are the fishing coloring books coming along?? 🙂

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 17:15:13

    @DZ

    *blinks* What?

    😉

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 21:28:39

    That would be an awesome birthday present. 😀 First grandchild?

    I tried to do the stethoscope thing too. Mine wasn’t powerful enough. Couldn’t even hear my own heartbeat let alone a baby’s. (Maybe I just don’t have a heartbeat? 😉 ) I know the docs have much better equipment and the doppler thing and whatnot, too. If you can hear it, that would be cool. 🙂

    Oh, sometimes I call my son a flutterbutt. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

