I feel like one of the 7 Dwarves…

Grumpy… irritable… short-tempered… cross… touchy… cantankerous… that’s me today.  It seems like there’s more and more being dumped on my plate at work and I feel like I’m a pushover for when people ask me to do stuff.  I actually snapped at all the guys (and Jen) today right before the our regularly scheduled staff meeting. 

Pick up breakfast for the group every Tuesday morning at Tim Hortons’?  Sure.  I can easily stop at the drive thru and get: 2 vanilla cream donuts in a separate bag so the chocolate doesn’t touch anyone else’s food, a cinnamon raisin bagel sliced – nothing else, a plain bagel w/butter and jam, a sausage egg & cheese biscuit, an everything bagel toasted with cream cheese, a small triple triple and whatever I want.  No problem!

Pick up a Mt. Dew for my boss so he can get some work done before the meeting starts?    I won’t be able to get into the office until 8:15 – 8:20 because it’s a whole separate stop but sure, why not? 

Not to mention the assorted questions that come when I bring the entire haul of food in (unassistted, I might add)…

Where’s the knife for my jam?  Which bagel is mine?  Tell them next time I want more filling in my donuts…

I’m also getting frustrated with the hand holding I’m having to do with the team.  I’m a salesperson – I sell things.  Technical people deal with all the technical questions like config files and IP schemes and crap.  I feel like I’m taking on more and more of the technical which doesn’t leave me as much time for the salesy stuff.  Oddly enough, I feel more in touch with my sales AFTER it’s closed when I am dealing with this stuff though.  It’s a win-lose either way.

Oh yeah… I hate Dell today.  Well, I hate Dell every day but even more today.  Those bastards tried to steal an $8,000 firewall deal that I’ve been working for MONTHS.  Die evil imperialist Dell scum!

Anyways… enough self pity.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 13:19:40

    Sending some hugs your way. And, next time they ask you to stop at Tim Horton’s, maybe you should just say NO. You’re the pregnant one — it’s their turn to pamper YOU. Soak it up while you can! Let’s meet up for lunch soon — my treat!

    Reply

  2. darcZombie
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 14:56:05

    Is it safe for me to come home?

    Yes, it’s safe for you to come home. I’ll try to transition from the Wicked Witch of the West to a somewhat happier version on the way home. Hopefully the traffic’s not too bad on 270 or you’re SOL, mister. Plus, I’m headed to the aqua class tonight with Stephanie and she’s always good for kicking my butt. More endorphins = happier Kreestee = happier you.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 03:47:21

    You be Grumpy, I’ll be Sleepy.

    I’m with Claire – you’re the expectant mommy, you should be the one having breakfast catered, not them! Sheesh! Sounds like they’re trying to bait and switch jobs on you somehow. Get ferocious with them all and then say it’s just hormones. And know we’re rooting for you!

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 13:45:17

    Ha! They can get their own breakfast. My fave line was always “Yeah I will do that AS SOON AS I FINISH GROWING THIS HUMAN IN MY BODY!” >:) Love the new blog, but miss the cute hippo!

    I uh, had a meltdown the next day that involved lots of F-bombs and me storming out of their offices. Oddly enough, they’re being MUCH nicer to me. I think the best comment to them was, “Junk in equals f’ing junk out so don’t bitch at me when you get f’ing junk dumped in your lap!” I was referring to the fact that if someone non-technical talks to someone else who is non-technical about a technical issue that the result isn’t going to be useful. Looking back it, the whole situation was hilarious. They apologized – I win!

    I started FEELING like the hippo… plus they came out with this new blog template and I fell in love with it. It let me do better links, has cooler commenting, and I just like the color green. Thanks for noticing!

    Oh yeah! I need you to help me with my registry 🙂 I’ll email you about the details…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

