Week 19 Appointment notes

Everything seems to be going well so far.  I saw yet another Dr. today while my OB/Gyn is out on maternity leave and it’s amazing at how different their interactions with patients are.  I saw a male doctor today – thank goodness I didn’t have to take off my pants – and it was just a little more awkward than seeing my regular female doctors. 

Anyways, here’s the good stuff from today:

  • Weight is still holding at the same that it was the last appointment – go me!  I talked with the Doc and he said that as long as the baby is growing and is on track that it’s okay if  I’m losing inches from other places while working out and eating right.  So far my total weight gain (at almost 5 months) is -3 lbs. 
  • Blood pressure – it’s dropped almost 15 points (or whatever the unit of measure is for BP) from the last visit.  I credit it to working out 3-5 days a week.  Good thing they didn’t take it on Thanksgiving… but that’s another story for another post.
  • Heartbeat – everything sounds well there.  It’s the same *swoosh swoosh swoosh* as last time except that it had a different twist today.  At some points the *swoosh* sound would be interrupted by a different swishing sound and then he would have to find the heartbeat again.  The doctor said that was caused by the baby moving around.  He had to reposition about 4 times in just the short time we were listening so it looks like it’s a perfectly normal active baby. 
  • Position – Looks like I may be carrying this baby high as everything is already above my bellybutton about 2 inches.  Maybe I just have a really low bellybutton?  Speaking of which, I’m losing valuable BB real estate.  It’s definitely becoming shallower.  TMI?  Could be.
  • AFP Testing – Yes, we caved and did the AFP testing.  Hopefuly nothing ‘negative’ turns up but we’ll be able to do the anatomy scan  here shortly which will be a better indicator.  They almost got my bloodwork mixed up with someone else’s – thank goodness they double checked my birth date to what the paperwork said.
  • Ultrasound Date – We’ll be able to find out if we’re having a boy or a girl on Monday, December 22nd at 11AM!

Back to Team Weight Loss tonight… I may try to go to the nutrition portion at 6 with Meagan’s class, hit water aerobics from 6:30 – 7:30 and then join my class at 7:30 upstairs on the treadmills.  We’ll have to see how motivated I feel when I go home.  I guess it also depends on whether or not I have a clean bathing suit 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claire
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 15:40:07

    you go girl!

    i carried emily really high until the very end when she finally dropped. i can’t wait to find out what you’re having…what a perfect christmas surprise! 🙂

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    I actually Googled ‘carrying baby high during pregnancy’ and the old wives tale gender predictors came out strongly as GIRL. We’ll have to wait another three weeks until the ultrasound to find out what’s going to happen. My mom tried to give me a heart attack today when she was like, “Well, maybe they missed another baby at the first ultrasounds and you’re really having twins” since my uterus is much higher than it should be at this point. I had a serious OMG moment.

    I think the three weeks between now and the U/S appointment are going to d-r-a-g like there’s no tomorrow. I don’t know which is worse… waiting for this appt. or waiting for Christmas? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 19:16:09

    Congrats on the weight and blood pressure. That is excellent news.

    If I had to do it all over again I would probably do the AFP testing again. We did get questionable results back but everything turned out fine. Those tests must be extremely sensitive.

    I’m not really worried about what the results could be. I was more ticked off that I was stuck in a waiting room at the hospital to get my blood drawn and was forced to watch Dr. Phil.

    I will be expecting a phone call from you on the 22nd! 🙂

    You will DEFINITELY be getting a phone call from me on the 22nd. I’m making my parents take us out to dinner that night so that we can do the big ‘reveal’ with them. I told them it was either dinner Monday night o-r-r-r-r-r-r-r we could wait until Christmas Day. My mom couldn’t wait another 3 days.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 08:10:56

    You go girl!

    What does your heart tell you it is, boy or girl? With my babies, I had dreams of babies of the opposite sex. I.E. If I dreamt of a boy, I knew it was a girl somehow.

    For some reason I can’t explain, I think it’s a boy. My girlfriend Allison then told me to prepare to buy pink. 🙂 When she was pregnant 2 years ago she was certain she was having a girl and then had Griffin. We’ll have to see. The suspense is KILLING me, especially since I’ll be 22 weeks by then… grr! I just keep telling myself that maybe it will be more accurate since the development is farther along.

    Oh, just an FYI, last I heard (and that’s been a while so technology is probably better now) ultrasounds give a false positive for a girl more often than a boy.

    I have NO idea what to expect at this shindig. I’m not even sure if it’s going to be a 3D ultrasound or not. Those are cool yet creepy at the same time. I’ve heard of other people drinking orange juice before they had theirs done so that the baby was more active but we’ll just have to see. Ben took the whole day off work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

