Waking up early is for the birds. They can HAVE their worm…

The last few nights (since Sunday, to be exact) I have been waking up at or near 4AM – wide awake.  I roll over, open my eyes, and groggily peer at the alarm clock knowing that I’ll see those same red glowing numbers… 3:59, 4:00, or 4:02.  Technically I’m really waking up at 3:49, 3:50, or 3:52 since my alarm clock is set 10 minutes ahead but it’s still the same thing – too damn early!

So far I’ve been pretty successful in getting back to sleep within 15-20 minutes of waking up bu I have to keep my mind contained because if not it starts racing ahead to start the day with thoughts of what I’m going to wear to work, who I need to call or what I need to do once I get to work, do I want to make my own tea or cheat and have Tim Hortons do it, are my library books due, if my bathing suit is clean for water aerobics, and other crazy things. 

I’m wondering if this is a pregnancy thing or just a Kristy-being-neurotic thing.  Maybe my brain is ready to start the day at 4AM but my body resists.   I’ve been getting to bed anywhere between the third quarter of any given football game and 11:30-ish so I know that I should be sleeping until at least 6:30 or 7:00. 

Could this be my mind/body preparing me to get up several times in the middle of the night and we’re just starting off light with the 4AM wakeup call?  Maybe next month we’ll progress and have both 2AM and 4AM eye-openers.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 23:00:32

    Sounds like your hormones to me. You can blame it on the baby. Once I could feel movement I soon realized that the baby is most active at night (and that did not change for many months after he was born!). Not easy to sleep when someone is kneading your insides. Oh the joys of pregnancy 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  2. Claire
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 21:27:39

    Haha…oh, sweetie, you’re in for a real treat. 🙂 Leave a tablet by your bed so you can jot down notes of things that are on your mind, then get back to rest! You’re going to need lots and lots of rest, so stockpile while you can. 🙂 And…did you make your ultrasound appt? Can’t wait!!

    It’s not that I have a lot on my mind, it’s just that all of a sudden my brain thinks it’s time to be awake no matter what time I went to bed. I can usually ‘trick’ myself into going back to sleep but it’s still an injustice. I’m really worried about getting enough sleep in this last half. We’ll see just how many hours I’ll be getting each night. *sigh*

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 04:03:08

    It’ll pass. Long about the 3rd trimester you won’t be able to keep your eyes open. Fortunately, you won’t have a 3 y/o spraying water in your face when you doze off.

    I’ve always heard that the 3rd trimester is the WORST to get sleep and that I should appreciate the sleep I’m getting now because it will seem like a distant day dream. Hopefully I don’t nod off while driving – that’s all I need is to have to pay another $500 deductible! Luckily I don’t have a three year old but I DO have a border collie with this terrific knack for licking the inside of your nose (or so it seems) right when you drift off to sleep and she can see you. Great – thanks – appreciate it.

    Oh, if you can get one of those body pillows, I’ve heard they’re wonderful. Since you’ll only be able to sleep on one side or the other, they supposedly provide extra support for your tummy so the baby doesn’t pull your back out too much while you’re sleeping.

    Snoogle here I come! I’ve been putting that purchase off for a while but I may have to stockpile pillows or buy the real thing here shortly. It’s not that I’m uncomfortable and wake up… it’s just that switch in my brain again. ‘Time to make the donuts…’

    I’m so excited for you! This time is so precious, even if it does feel so aggravating right now. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

