Fitness Test – 6 Weeks into the program

I almost forgot – we did our fitness test for the Team Weight Loss Program again on Monday night and we all absolutely kicked butt.  Essentially, this is the 1/2 way point into the program and we compared our baseline distance that we did on the first night to this mid-point distance. At one point I was cruising along at 3.7, which is only .3 away from the jogging speed.   I did 1.51 miles in 30 minutes last time and ended up doing 1.72 miles this time.   That’s a 12% increase over the last time. 

Other noticeable things is that I have more stamina when walking or even working out.  An hour doesn’t seem to kill me like it used to.  I can easily do an hour+ on the treadmill at a pretty fast rate without wanting to keel over.  The incline increase is probably the most dramatic change that we’ve faced.  When we first started we would do a 2% incline with the max being 6-8%.  Now?  A 2% or 4% incline feels FLAT and we can all do a 15% incline (the max!) for over 4 minutes.  It feels like you’re climbing a huge hill but it gets your heart rate up like you wouldn’t believe.

The good thing about this class is that I’ve been able to keep all of my workout handouts (remind me to get those to you, Claire!) so when I *do* have the baby I’ll have a custom workout where I can start at a not-so-fit level after taking those 6 weeks off and will be able to get right back to where I left off without having to go through the program again.  Genius!

I’ve been thinking ahead to when the program ends in January… they have 4 nights of water aerobics classes and I think I’m going to start taking those for several reasons.

1).  You’re a lot lighter underwater and there’s less risk of injury when your ligaments are all whacked out from relaxin. 

2). Water provides hydrostatic pressure – basically, it has ‘counter pressure’ and pushes in on your skin, which is supposed to reduce swelling and edema.

3). I’ll be doing SOME form of exercise activity.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcZombie
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 14:31:43

    ha! You said edema!!

    I said eDema, not eNema, goofball! ~kr~

    Reply

  2. claire
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 14:50:13

    And…and….water takes gravity off of your belly/back and feels ooooooh-so-good when you’re prego! 🙂 I think that sounds like a fabulous idea!!!

    I’m soooooo looking forward to it. I took a look at the club schedule and they cut back one day a week when I’m able to go at night. They insist on having a class at 9:30AM instead 😦 ~kr~

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 13:07:49

    Water aerobics are EXCELLENT exercise programs for expecting mothers! And can be done far, far into the pregnancy — much farther than most other exercise forms because they remove so much strain on joints and apply focus on muscular exertion.

    Great idea!

    Just call me Ethel Merman… or whatever her name was. I refuse to wear a bathing cap though! 🙂

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 15:02:41

    Just call me Ethel Merman… or whatever her name was. I refuse to wear a bathing cap though!

    I think you’re meaning Shelly Winters. She was a synchronized swimmer turned actress, I believe.

    I believe. Don’t hold me to it, though.

    We were both wrong (big surprise). Further consultation of All Things Google revealed that I was thinking of Esther Williams.

    — A national swimming champion, teenaged Esther Williams was planning to compete in the 1940 Summer Olympics in Helsinki, Finland. When those were cancelled due to World War II, she auditioned for the leading female role in Billy Rose’s Aquacade review in San Francisco.

    Williams’ swimming talent gave her something unique to offer moviegoers and nearly all of her films made use of her water prowess with elaborately staged swimming and diving sequences.
    Louis B. Mayer leaned heavily on his strongest moviemaking instinct — pleasing crowds with celebrated stars — to effectively create a new genre, the aqua musical, just for Williams. —

    We’re geeks 😀

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 15:09:45

    … And no. I’m wrong. At least, I couldn’t find anything indicating she did synchronized swimming before becoming an actress. So maybe it WAS Ethyl Merman. Now I’m confused, but lack the desire to invest real effort in finding out.

    😀 Whatever. It’s good for you to swim. 🙂

    Reply

  6. darcZombie
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 15:49:48

    I’m embarrased to say this but it was Esther Williams.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Esther_Williams

    Reply

Leave a Reply

