17 Weeks

Someone at work posed a particularly difficult question to me today and I didn’t really know how to answer it.  She asked me how I felt about becoming a mom.  Apparently, I haven’t put the ‘being pregnant’ = ‘becoming a mom’ thing together yet.  I told her that I honestly couldn’t answer her because I have no freakin idea.  It really hasn’t hit me yet.  All I can focus on right now is the small stuff – I’m not ready for the existential just yet.

The small stuff… pants continually getting more tight, heartburn after eating dinner (yeah, I got it from eating potato soup – POTATO SOUP!), and now unexplained emotional swings.  Well, I guess I can’t really call them unexplained but they’re certainly unexpected and unwelcome.  Yesterday I thought I would blow my top at my co-workers over Subway’s flatbread (don’t ask) and today I ended up bawling and sniveling over the ending to a stupid episode of Scrubs.  Seriously?  Seriously.

Aaaaaaaanyways, here’s looking at week 17 for me and baby.

Your baby’s skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord — her lifeline to the placenta — is growing stronger and thicker. Your baby weighs 5 ounces now, and she’s around 5 inches long from head to bottom. She can move her joints, and her sweat glands are starting to develop.

With me… pretty much the baby bump will make me more off balance and I’m supposed to wear lower heeled shoes – check!  I ended up getting 2 new pairs that are easy slip on / slip off this weekend.  If you haven’t tried Privo shoes yet then you gotta.  Also my eyes might get drier so I should expect to wear my contacts less and my glasses more.

I go back to the doctor for my next appointment on December 1st – 19 weeks in.  Hopefully we’ll be able to schedule ‘THE’ ultrasound appointment before Christmas.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 09:49:07

    Hi K! That’s a hard question. And, it’s hard to really be prepared until you actually become a mother. Everyone reacts differently to motherhood. Some people go right into it like it’s the best thing in the world, and others have a harder time making the transition. You can’t really know until your little baby is born. In any case, good luck with the heartburn and the mood swings. I, for one, do not miss being pregnant one bit. And, those are just two of the reasons! 🙂 Hopefully you don’t have back pain like I did. I had to go to PT because I was in so much pain. Fun times. 🙂 Take care of yourself and…Scrubs? Really? Just kidding!

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 12:40:38

    Yeah those little mood swings and blow ups don’t go away…you may want to get into marriage counseling STAT 🙂 And there are still times that I have a hard time thinking of myself as someone’s mom. My first thought when I saw Griffin *outside* of my body was not elation but shock. They weren’t lying…there really was a human in there!

    Reply

  3. darcZombie
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 14:32:57

    Seriously. The scrubs thing was concerning but effin hilarious! She sits down, realizes the guy is dead and just starts bawling. I felt bad but this morning, looking back, it was hilarious! Sorry honey but it was.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 05:43:08

    Sometimes the “mom” thing doesn’t kick in until you actually hold your baby for the 1st time. I think it’s probably that way for most 1st time moms. It’s like it’s not real, not really a person, but just some kind of weird growth.

    But the 1st time you see that little face – ahh, in that one moment, everything in the world makes sense to you, because you’re holding the entire world in your arms. 🙂

    Right now I can’t even *picture* this being an actual flesh and blood baby much less think 5 months down the road to when I’ll actually get to meet them. ~kr~

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 17:24:30

    Have you felt it move yet? It starts to get a little more real after that. 🙂 Those first little flutters when you’re not sure if it was the baby or not, and then it happens again and you know. What a precious time this is for you. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

