We’ve hit Week 13…

So Week 13 isn’t all that much different for me from Week 12 except that I can finally eat a full meal about once every 3 days instead of just picking at my food.  The meat aftertaste is still there so I’ve been subsisting on Apple Jacks, Raisin Bran, and grilled cheese – all meatless.  I tried some orange pork at Ben’s parents house yesterday and had 2 small pieces so hopefully it’s getting better. 

I can actually stay awake through an entire football game now! I was able to watch the Steelers/Bengals game in its entirety.  I did, however, still fall asleep during last night’s Tampa Bay/Seahawks matchup but I think it’s because I got up at 5:45AM.  At least that’s the excuse I’m using.

This getting up in the middle of the night thing is starting to get old although it *has* motivated me to keep the bedroom floor clean.  There’s nothing worse than stumbling into a pile of clothes that you need to throw in the washer -or worse yet – stepping directly on a piece of half chewed rawhide while you’re trying to make your way to the bathroom in the utter darkness.  I may have to get Ben to trade me bathrooms (and sides of the bed!) until after the baby gets here to make my life easier.  Yeah right – I have as much chance of that happening as climbing Mt. Kilamanjaro.
Here’s what’s happening with baby this week…
~~This is the last week of your first trimester and your baby weighs 14 to 20 grams. The crown-to-rump length of your growing baby is 2.6 to 3.1 inches. Your baby is now about the size of a peach. Fetal growth is amazing from now through about the 24th week of pregnancy.~~
~~Tissue that will form your baby’s bones is being laid down, especially around the head and limbs. The nose and chin are becoming more prominent. Your baby’s eyelids meet and fuse together and they will not open again for nearly four months. The eyes started out on the side of your baby’s head and they are now moving closer together on the face. The ears come to lie in their normal position on the sides of the head. The sockets for all twenty teeth are formed in the gums, and vocal cords are beginning to form.~~
I’m not sure if I’m ready for this ‘amazing fetal growth’ through week 24, but we’ll take it as it comes.  I’m still fitting comfortably into my work clothes (thank goodness) but will probably weed through my closet this weekend trying on stuff.  I need to do it anyways since fall is (finally!) here.  Time to put away all the capri pants *sigh*.  Hopefully I will be able to fit into them next spring… wishful thinking.
 
 
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:15:42

    A peach! Chugging right along… Thanks for the updates. Love the blog!

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 11:27:43

    This is exciting. 🙂

    Reply

  3. kreestee
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 08:35:44

    Exciting? More like terrifying 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

