12 Week Milestone

Wow!  It seems like this is going so quickly!  I actually had to break down and buy my first pair of maternity jeans this weekend.  Mine were getting just a little too uncomfortable.  Luckily, I lost some weight before purchasing the majority of my work clothes so those should be good to go for a few more weeks (or months?) at least.

Most of my first trimester symptoms have now completely disappeared except that I’m still having problems eating a full meal.  Also, a new weird thing is that all meat (fish, pork, beef) has a weird aftertaste for me.  I’m learning to get by without it or just a few bites but it’s definitely a strange new development.  Ben is getting more understanding about me not eating his cooking – I blame it on the baby.

Shiloh (our Australian Shepherd) is getting more and more clingy and wants to be with me all the time.  Hopefully she’ll understand why I won’t be spending more time with her when the baby gets here – oi yoi yoi… I’m  not looking forward to it.

Anyways – here’s what’s going on with baby:

 ~~ Your baby’s crown-to-rump length is almost 2.5 inches and she now weighs between 8 and 14 grams! In just three weeks, your baby’s size has more than doubled and begins to look a lot more human. Even though you won’t be able to feel your baby moving at this time, you can stimulate him and he will squint, open his mouth and move his fingers or toes. ~~

~~By the end of this week, your uterus is too large to remain completely in your pelvis. You might be able to feel your uterus above your pubic bone. The uterus will continue to grow throughout your pregnancy and will return to its usual size within a few weeks after delivery.~~

No wonder I needed new jeans.  More baby news to come next week…

Leave a Reply

