Fitness & Baby Drama…

So I’m getting ready to hit the second trimester of my pregnancy and realized that I need to do something about my fitness, my nutrition, and essentially getting off my ass.  I figured that I could either try to do it myself (like that has worked oh-so-many times before) or I could finally admit that I can’t do it alone and ask for help.

Enter Sheila, my personal trainer at Lifetime Fitness.  Ben and I got a free training session with her when we first joined a few months ago and she put together a pretty easy-to-get-into program for us where we could work out together.  Seriously – it included throwing medicine balls at each other!  Ben got mad when I accidentally threw it at his head once.

 She had initially approached me about Team Weight Loss, a 12 week program where you set a weight loss goal and then with the help and motivation of a personal trainer, a nutritionist, and 12 – 15 other people who are in the same boat as you, actually achieve those goals.  Typically, participants set a weight loss goal of X pounds and Y body fat % that they want to lose in those 12 weeks.  However, since I’m pregnant and technically should be *gaining* weight instead of losing it, they’re going to base my reward (returning a $150 joining fee) on attendance instead of weight loss or fat loss %.  

I’m hoping that this is the key that will motivate me to go to the gym every M-W-F night at 7PM.  Oh yeah – did I mention that there is another pregnant woman who will be in my class?  I’m hoping it will be an instant pregnancy friend.

Anyways, expect to see weekly updates on my progress.  I think we weigh in weekly or something.  I’ll also post baby updates as they occur.  I should probably post the first sonagram picture that we got from 10w2d.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 11:23:56

    Well, congratulations on being motivated enough to actually MOVE and do something about your weight problem. I can’t do that, get that far. If I do, I wouldn’t be able to complain as much. 😉

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

